Kailash Mansarovar Tour

Kailash and Mansarovar are the places where god is palpable and everywhere manifest, or so the hundreds of thousands of pilgrims have felt. If you are a follower of any of Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism and Bonism (or Bonpoism), you will certainly circumambulate Mt Kailash to get blessed, and also visit Mansarovar Lake and take a dip in it to further wash away all the sins and cleanse yourself. However you need not belong to any of the above mentioned religions to appreciate the ethereal beauty of Mt Kailash and its surroundings.

Now let’s see how different religions treat Mt Kailash. For the Hindus, it is the abode of Lord Shiva, the destroyer of evil. Buddhists revere it as the home of Chakrasambara, and also connect with it Padmashambhava and Milarepa, whereas Jains attribute the mountain for redeeming Rishavdev, the first Jain, from the cycle of rebirths. Finally Bon-Pos treat it as the ultimate spiritual center.

The following itinerary lets you explore these fabulous locations and also gives you an ample introduction to the physical and geographical features of Tibet, the highest plateau of the world, and probably gives you a chance to experience the best of all Tibet tours.

Day 1: Arrival/ transfer

Day 2: Kathmandu Sightseeing/Documentation

Day 3: Kathmandu to Nyalam (3750m)

Day 4: Rest Day at Nylam (3750m)

Day 5: Nyalam to Saga (4450m); 232 km

Day 6: Saga to Paryang (4600m); 230 km

Day 8: Manasarovar (4558m) sightseeing

Day 9: Drive from Manasarovar to Tarchen (4564m); 40km

Day 10: Trek from Tarchen to Dehara Puk (5000m); 15 km

Day 11: From Dehra Puk to Zuthal Puk via Dolma La Pass (5669m)

Day 12: Kailash to Takla Kot

Day 1: Arrival/ transfer
As you land at the Tribhuwan international airport, our airport representative will welcome you and transfer you to your hotel. Relax in the hotel and refresh yourself. If time permits, you can go on a sightseeing tour to some major cultural hubs of Kathmandu valley.

Day 2: Kathmandu Sightseeing / Documentation
Today we will prepare the documentation and make other necessary preparations for the trip. At the same time, you will explore the culturally and historically rich Kathmandu valley. There are seven cultural and religious sites from the valley included in the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage list.

Day 3: Kathmandu to Nyalam (3750m)
We drive through valleys and river banks in the north-eastern direction from Kathmandu valley after having breakfast.In about three hours we will enter the territory of China and after further drive, we will reach Zangmu. After completing necessary formalities, we will head to the final destination — Nyalam.

Day 4: Rest Day at Nylam (3750m):
A day of acclimatization at this place is very advantageous for your health.

Day 5: Nyalam to Saga (4450m); 232 km:
Although a long drive awaits you today, you will see sand- covered land of Tibet; and experience the life of its herders, who will be looking after hordes of yaks and sheep.You will also cross the Lablung Pass at 5150m, and know why this place is called the highest plateau of the world. Then you will move across the legendary Brahmaputra River and reach a representative Tibetan town, Saga, for the night.

Day 6: Saga to Paryang (4600m); 230 km:
Drive across valleys with pastures. Snow-covered mountains gleaming to the south, numerous rocky peaks and sand dunes complete the picture of Tibetan landscape for this day, whereas people in traditional costume will greet you and serve you with tea.

Day 7: Paryang to Manasarovar (4558m); 277km:
This is the longest drive you will do after entering Tibet, but you are rewarded with the mesmerizing views of Mt Kailash and Mansarovar. We will spend the night in a beautiful village near the Manasarovar Lake.

Day 8: Manasarovar (4558m) sightseeing:
Manasarovar is a fabulously beautiful lake in the world with fishes and swans swimming in its crystal clear waters. Mt Kailash, Mt. Gurula-Mandala, Lake Raksheshi are in its vicinity. The surrounding also contains gold mines, rare wildlife and hot springs.

Day 9: Drive from Manasarovar to Tarchen (4564m); 40km:
Take a dip in the holy lake in the morning and drive to Tarchen, which serves as the starting point for going around Mt Kailash.

Day 10: Trek from Tarchen to Dehara Puk (5000m); 15 km:
Today you will keep on seeing Mt Kailash as you trek along cliffs and pristine waterfalls. The natural setting of the trip evokes in you a feeling of being in the vicinity of heaven and you will experience as if the god is blessing you.

Day 11: From Dehra Puk to Zuthal Puk via Dolma La Pass (5669m):
This leg of the journey is the hardest, requiring us to cross the Dolma La Pass between two valleys. One valley is supposed to be the abode of Yama, the Hindu god of death, while the other is supposed to ne the abode of Lord Shiva. The devout usually meditate at the pass to be blessed. Once you reach the pass, you will descend through Parvati-stal and Gauri Kunda , finally reaching Zuthal Puk (the Cave of Miracles).

Day 12: Kailash to Takla Kot:
You will finish going round Mt Kailash and drive to Takla Kot today.

Country: Tibet
Group Size: 6